Go For the Gold Pineapple Truffles

Source: www.kitchenmeetsgirl.com –  By

I don’t know about you, but I’m totally ready for the Olympics.

Sort of a strange thing for probably the least athletic person you’ll ever meet, but I’m absolutely captivated by them.

I imagine my parents still have old VHS tapes of me in the backyard, performing various floor routines as if I were Mary Lou Retton.  Yeah, that’s kind of giving away my age here, but say what you will…Mary Lou was definitely America’s darling of the 1984 Olympics.

And let’s set the record clear…not only am I not athletic, I’m not very flexible or coordinated, so the idea of me attempting “floor routines” is a bit laughable.

Also, I have a feeling the women’s gymnastics team doesn’t sneak into the kitchen in the middle of the night to eat pineapple truffles.  Seriously, if I had to choose between being a world-class gymnast or eating truffles, I’m going to pick truffles every time.

I’m good at it.

Really, really good.

I’m thinking we should form a Olympic Dessert Eating team for the 2016 Olympics…who’s with me?

Go For the Gold Pineapple Truffles
Ingredients
For the Truffles:
    • 2 cups flour
    • 2 teaspoons baking soda
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt
    • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
    • 3/4 cup buttermilk
    • 3 eggs
    • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    • 1 1/2 cups sugar
    • 1 8-ounce can crushed pineapple, drained (reserve the juice)
For the Frosting:
    • 1/2 cup butter
    • 4 cups powdered sugar
    • 6 tablespoons crushed pineapple
    • 2 tablespoons pineapple juice
For Dipping:
  • 1 package Candiquick
  • Gold sprinkles

Instructions

For the Cake:
    1. Preheat oven to 350.
    2. In a medium bowl, combine dry ingredients.  In a separate bowl, whisk together oil, buttermilk, eggs, and vanilla.  Stir in sugar and pineapple.  Add flour mixture and stir well.  Pour into a 9×13 pan (or 2 8-inch rounds).  Bake for 35 minutes, or until lightly golden.
For the Frosting:
    1. In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream butter.  Add sugar gradually, beating well.  Stir in crushed pineapple and juice, beating until desired consistency is reached.
To Assemble:
  1. Let cake cool entirely.  Crumble into small pieces into a large bowl.  Stir in frosting and combine well.  Form mixture into balls. Chill in refrigerator at least 2 hours.
  2. Melt Candiquick according to package directions. Dip balls into melted candy and sprinkle with gold sprinkles.

Cake from Wilton; frosting from About.Com

This recipe makes a ton of truffles.  Since I didn’t want to wear Olympic-sized pants, I made half a recipe–which yielded around two dozen truffles.  Use this recipe for a tip on dividing an egg!

And, if you want to see some super creative Olympic-themed dessert recipes, be sure to check out Miss Candiquik’s Olympic Party Round-Up!

Have a great Monday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Desserts, pineapple truffles

Leave a Reply

